This topic contains 13 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Skandha 3 months, 3 weeks ago.

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #169831

    joshuagreene
    Participant

    I’m currently using My Music Band Pro. Everything on the site is working perfectly EXCEPT…

    When I load the CATALOG page in Safari (Desktop AND Mobile versions) it hangs for a LONG time: Desktop takes 30 seconds or more. Mobile can take up to 2 minutes. No such issues with Chrome or Firefox. The page is:

    https://showchoircharts.com/catalog/

    I’ve spent hours with Kinsta Tech Support trying to address this issue. We believe the problem is that Safari is having difficulty loading SVG fonts. When you watch the page load in Web Inspector, it hangs EVERY time when it hits the SVG fonts. It eventually DOES load, but it’s unacceptably slow.

    The link below indicates that SVG fonts are a deprecated feature, and are not supported by Chrome or Firefox — which explains why those browsers are having no issues.

    https://caniuse.com/#feat=svg-fonts

    Almost ALL of my clients are Mac based, so a solution quickly as I’m losing sales by the day. A timely response would be greatly appreciated.

    Thank You,
    jg

    #169844

    Skandha
    Keymaster

    @joshuagreene: Hello there,
    This maybe due to one of the plugin you are using. I checked our demo in Safari Browser in a Mac and there was no issue with the page loading time. Can you disable all your plugins and check if this resolves the issue.

    Kind Regards,
    Skandha

    #169897

    joshuagreene
    Participant

    With respect, this reads like a stock response you send for every question: “Works on our end, must be you. Check your plugs.”

    As I mentioned in my original post, I’ve spent HOURS with Kinsta tech support trying to resolve this, as I had a hunch you might not be as interested in keeping my business as they are. I was obviously correct. That said…

    If I’ve spent hours trying to resolve this issue, don’t you think one of the very first things I tried was disabling my plugins? Give me a little bit of credit. Please.

    Also, telling me that you checked YOUR demo in Safari and it works just fine means nothing. I’m not trying to run your demo, I’m trying to run MY WEBSITE. What’s more, I was very clear what the issue appears to be. It’s a problem with the SVG font — a font you’ve coded into this theme that is DEPRECATED. You didn’t even mention that in your resply. Why not?

    Because you posted a stock response — TWICE, actually. However, I’m going to give you the benefit of the doubt, hope that it was actually just an automated reply, and trust that you’ll now actually HELP me address this issue.

    Please tell me what you need from me to begin resolving this issue. If you can assist me in finding a resolution, I’ll leave you one of those glowing reviews you so often ask for — because good service warrants a good review. If you reply with another stock response, however, I’ll assume you’re not interested in helping, and my review will reflect that.

    Respectfully,
    jg

    #169906

    joshuagreene
    Participant

    For reference, here’s the waterfall for the page in question.

    Waterfall

    As you can see, it speeds along just fine ’til it hits those PNGs and SVGs (images that I did NOT upload). Interestingly, they are NOT present in any browser other than Safari. Kinsta tech support and I gather that the reason they don’t appear in other browsers is because those browsers have stopped supporting those font images.

    I’m a total newbie, but it appears that your theme is causing this to happen. And as you can see, it’s adding TWENTY-EIGHT seconds to my load time.

    If this isn’t a theme issue, could you at least point me in a direction so that I can begin troubleshooting elsewhere. And if it IS a theme issue, please address it so that the theme runs as efficiently as possible.

    Thank You,
    jg

    #169907

    joshuagreene
    Participant

    Here’s one more waterfall for reference. This time it added over FIFTY seconds to the load:

    Waterfall 2

    #169992

    joshuagreene
    Participant

    FWIW… I don’t know much (if anything) about coding, but there are 2 Uncaught ReferenceErrors in My Music Band Pro’s Theme Files at: assets/js/functions.min.js:1.

    Both errors say “MusicBandScreenReaderText is not defined.”

    DevTools – Console Tab

    This may or may not have anything to do with the issue I’m having, but it would appear this is a mistake. If I knew anything about javascript and css I’d fix it myself, but… that’s why I purchased a custom theme from a company that does.

    Please advise,
    jg

    • This reply was modified 4 months, 1 week ago by  joshuagreene.
    • This reply was modified 4 months, 1 week ago by  joshuagreene.
    • This reply was modified 4 months, 1 week ago by  joshuagreene.
    • This reply was modified 4 months, 1 week ago by  joshuagreene.
    • This reply was modified 4 months, 1 week ago by  joshuagreene.
    #170106

    Skandha
    Keymaster

    @joshuagreene: Hello Joshua,
    I will need to have a look at you admin settings to find out what exactly is causing the site to load slow in Safari Browser. For that I will need you WP admin credentials. I will contact you shortly by email.

    Since the issue is not showing up at our end and in the demo as well. I will need to look into your site to debug the issue.

    Kind Regards,
    Skandha

    #170291

    Skandha
    Keymaster

    @joshuagreene: Hello Joshua,
    I checked your site and I disabled the WooCommerce Product Table and then your site seems to load fast. I think this is an issue related to that plugin as without the plugin enabled the site seems to load fast. Can you try contacting the plugin support?

    KInd Regards,
    Skandha

    #170972

    joshuagreene
    Participant

    I have spoken with plugin support for WooCommerce Product Table. They too have logged into the website to troubleshoot.

    Their suggestion was to find a new theme as their plugin works perfectly with every other theme we’ve tried. Your suggestion is to disable their plugin, which is not an option as it powers the most important feature of my website.

    Clearly the issue is between their plugin and your theme. It would be so helpful if you would reach out to them and help us find a solution, or if someone at Catch Themes would look into your code and address what’s causing the issue.

    As I’ve pointed out repeatedly, the hang happens in Safari when the theme calls for the SVG font icons. These are image files that I DID NOT UPLOAD. The THEME is calling for them. Chrome, Firefox, etc. DON’T ALLOW those font icons because it’s a deprecated font. Can you not simply remove that call from the theme — or just tell me WHERE TO GO to REMOVE ALL OF IT myself?

    If this is something you cannot or refuse to address, then I’d like a FULL REFUND. It won’t compensate me for the two months I’ve spent building this site or the business I’ve lost as a result of it not working properly, and I will obviously have to completely redesign with a new theme, but the functionality of my site DEPENDS on the plugin you’re asking me to disable — a plugin that works flawlessly with EVERY OTHER THEME we’ve tried.

    Please. PLEASE give me some options here. With respect, I understand that this is an issue between a plugin and a theme. However, the evidence points toward the theme as the cuprit, and I don’t feel like you’ve given it the attention it requires.

    PLEASE Help. Thank you,
    jg

    #171024

    Skandha
    Keymaster

    @joshuagreene: Hello Joshua,
    This maybe be due to plugin conflict with the theme. I understand your frustration and we have tried to dig into this matter from our side to debug the issue but haven’t been successful.
    Please fill in the form in this link and address your issue for refund.

    Kind Regards,
    Skandha

    #171071

    joshuagreene
    Participant

    Thank you. I’ll do that. FWIW, though…

    I find it incredibly frustrating that you refuse to even MENTION, let alone address the deprecated font you have baked into the theme. You say you’ve tried to debug, but you simply won’t talk about the issue we’re ALL seeing. The tech support team at Kinsta have nothing to do with the website (other than hosting it), and they are of the opinion that the theme design — NOT THE PLUGIN — is at fault, and have specifically called out the deprecated font as being the issue. Why you’d refuse to even talk about it is suspect to me. That said…

    Thank you for allowing the refund. I do appreciate the gesture.

    jg

    #171183

    joshuagreene
    Participant

    I know you’ve decided not to address this theme problem at this time, but for reference (should you want to actually FIX it going forward for future customers), below is a screengrab of the load Summary for just ONE of the font images the MY MUSIC BAND PRO theme is calling in Safari (that it does NOT call in any other tested browser).

    MY MUSIC BAND PRO SVG Summary

    As you can see, SOMETHING IS WRONG. And this is just one of TWELVE calls that the theme is making, which I’ve shown in prior posts is adding up to FIFTY seconds of load time — in Safari ONLY.

    As Safari is able to use other web fonts, I would recommend testing this theme with this particular one REMOVED. It is clearly causing issues, and doesn’t seem to be necessary to the functionality of the theme. Which is otherwise pretty great.

    #171200

    joshuagreene
    Participant

    This will be my last post, as it has recently become apparent that this is in fact an issue with the plugin. You were correct all along, and I apologize for wasting your time, and expressing such frustration here.

    I am a newbie, and because the response time was so much faster with the plugin developer, I incorrectly assumed that what they were telling me was accurate. I’m still learning — and apparently the folks at Kinsta’s tech support are too.

    Given this development, I will not be requesting a refund after all, as it appears your theme is working just fine. Thank you so much for your time, and…

    Sincerest Apologies,
    jg

    #171267

    Skandha
    Keymaster

    @joshuagreene: Hello Joshua,
    Glad that it was finally evident where the issue was coming from.

    Can you share us how you were able to finally figure out the plugin was causing the issue and what was causing it so that It will be helpful if other customers have the same issue in the future.

    Do let me know if you have any more issues.
    Kind Regards,
    Skandha

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.